Squirelly power, battery backup

The power in my area blinks out frequently in wind/weather but the outages are usually just a few seconds.  I’d been threatening to get a minimal UPS but hadn’t done it yet.

Only one of my machines really matters much in this regard (main workstation) since I remote into it regularly from offsite.

I was at a thrift shop recently and found an APC Back-UPS CS 500 for $20.  They are about $100 new so I figured even if I had to buy a fresh battery I’d still be ahead.  Turns out it did need a fresh batt so I picked up this well-reviewed one for $17.49. Works great.

I yanked the plug on the APC and it merrily ran the PC.  I won’t have the monitor on the backup since I would be either 1) offsite; or 2) sitting in the dark when the UPS comes into play.

So that’s $37.49 instead of $100.  I like that discount.

Leave a Reply

