Unintended consequenses of open carry

I haven’t seen anyone OC yet and I don’t intend to do so myself anytime soon.  But there has been an unforeseen (to me at least)  repercussion against concealed carry.

I’ve been a member of the Texas 30.06 website for years. People note where they see legal 30.06 postings so CHL folks can avoid them or disarm before entering.  New postings result in email to forum members.

It’s been about 1/week for years for the Dallas area.  Now it’s a deluge since 30.07 postings are there too.  But here’s the side effect:  lots of the new OC probibitions are accompanied by CHL prohibitions.  I think the thinking is “as long as I’ve got to put one big ugly sign up I might as well put up the other one.

I fully support the rights of business owners to post both prohibitions;  I’ll take my money elsewhere.  I guess we will see over time if OC is good / bad / neutral for CHL.

 

 

Leave a Reply

