Day off 3 of 4

 photo 20150104_163512_zpszdvuvs4u.jpg
I took advantage of the soft, truck-eating ground and dug around the remains of the mulberry stump.   There is one rounded spot about 4″ high so I dug around it and exposed the subsurface roots.   I’ll make another fire there and I think that will do the trick.

[digression: the ground was soft enough it made me think I should pull the fence poles while the getting’s good.  Some appear to have rusted and broken off near ground level and I’m not sure what to do about that.  Might make a test pull tomorrow and see what happens.]

 photo 20150104_164039_zps9xhgqbmm.jpgBack to the fire:  the logs placed around the burn area came from the corner by the utility pole. Some were probably liftable but 1) I couldn’t get the truck up in there yet, and 2) the tractor’s spine is in better shape than mine is.

That corner still looks like a tornado hit it but still represents a massive improvement. All the brown area in the pic was covered with 1″ saplings, the aforementioned logs, barbed wire, etc. My goal for tomorrow is to get that cleaned up and start cleaning up the adjacent fenceline (ie, from that corner to first). There are some 4″ saplings in there that will have to be cut out so if I can get to 1st that’s good enough for me.

 photo 20150104_164151_zpslxtwsrmu.jpg
Something else (other than a white Ranger) was found in the mud by the fenceline: a sweet gum (?) tree branch.  This was unexepected because I haven’t seen any sweet gum on the property.   I stood there thinking and looked over at the neighboring property closest to that stretch of fence.  Aha!  It appears that the last windstorm blew the branch 65′ from their tree and over the fence.  🙂  Actually, I think I remember a tree trimming crew doing their cleanup after that storm and one of the crew likely tossed the branch.

Leave a Reply

