3000 miles on the bike

I’ve been commuting on the bike and have racked up about 3000 miles on it so far.  Getting in the high 60s MPG.  It’s an incredibly practical bike.

I’ve added a few farkles (“functional sparkles”) to the bike and my wardrobe.  In order of appearance:

Armored textile pants

Tourmaster Venture pants, used off eBay for $60 (about 1/3rd of MSRP) in good condition. With liners.  I had the Calibre pants before and really liked them.  Couldn’t find any used, though.

Dashcam

There’s no dash on the bike but you get the idea.  It’s a MetroFlash e360 HD cam, waterproof.  Same Chinese manufacture as Panasonic and Air, if I remember correctly.  Works great.

Footpeg drops

About $60 new off eBay, shipped from China in about a week.  Nice design and milling.  Gives me about an inch of extra legroom.  1/3rd the price of the Buell Ulysses pegs that had been the go-to for NC700X riders before

Heated Vest

This is the one that really interested me.  I’ve ridden in the cold on bikes before but had never tried out heated gear.  Found some New Old Stock leftovers (widder, the former vendor for bmw motorrad) on eBay for about 1/3rd the price of new.  Works great.

I’d been meaning to wire in a BatteryTender SAE plug anyhow for maintaining the bike’s battery and this was the kick in the butt I needed.  Made a little Widder–SAE connector so I can use both the gear or the charger off the one plug.

My install is “ghetto fabulous” but works well and is removable:

Leave a Reply

